It was all too easy for App Store users to pay for a subscription they didn’t want if they used Touch ID for authentication. Just a simple misplaced finger on the home button could cause them to pay for a subscription they didn’t want. This was problematic because most users would press the Home button to try and leave the app when they saw a subscription popup. Since they had Touch ID enabled, it would authenticate the subscription instead and sign them up for something they didn’t want.

Advertising

Apple is finally fixing this by adding a confirmation action to the process. When users hit the subscribe button in the App Store and then authenticate with Touch ID or Face ID, they will be shown a new pop-up notice to confirm that they’re going to go ahead with the subscription.

The notice will also have an option to cancel and go back in case they change their mind. “The subscription will continue unless canceled in Settings at least one day before a subscription period ends,” it says.

Apple has reportedly been rolling out this change for the past few days and there have been reports from users across the globe that they’re now seeing this confirmation action in the App Store.

Filed in Apple. Read more about and .

Related Articles on Ubergizmo